Thingy of the Week #3 – The Albatross in the Room (MissImp)

I’ve got a very short thingy for you this week (no gags please, we’re improvisers).

At the workshop I ran on Saturday we played a game which involved two people making a bold physical offer at the exact same time to start a scene. The results were amazing and hilarious. Every time we tried it the justifications leapt out at as. We didn’t let the scenes run on, but the beginnings we had were rich, bold and intriguing.

Afterwards, I realised that I’d seen this happen in a video from MissImp, our Nottingham friends. I don’t think they were attempting it – the two performers just happened to start with a physical offer. Anyhow, the scene is a great example of how this can add depth to scenes as they accept and build on the offers each of them has made.

 So here it is – ‘The Albatross in the Room

Leave a comment